{Fast Day} Day 15: ‘Bulletproof’ Coffee

Before we talk about the phenomenon of ‘bulletproof’ coffee & how it can supposedly aid weight loss, a big thank you for the lovely comments & a couple of e-mails about my progress pics (glad to hear that you guys can see some changes already too!), it has really spurred me on to continue on this journey!

The last four days have been feed days & they have been pretty indulgent to say the least. It was my last few days before moving jobs so there was plenty of goodbye chocolates/cake/pizza & err sloppy joes. Whilst I loving having treats, I was pretty glad when it was all over as my self-discipline can be a bit unpredictable at best, so I like it when I can get back to my 80/20 (80% healthy, 20% less so) routine. In some attempt to offset all the snacks, on Monday, I hit the pool again (loving outdoor swimming at the moment!) to complete my HIIT swim workout:

sloppy joes swimming^^^ Swimming totally counteracts sloppy joes right?

Today, I felt ready for a fast day. I was also feeling experimental so thought I would try out my own version of ‘bulletproof’ coffee. For those not in the know, Bulletproof coffee is a disgusting-sounding concoction of coffee, grass-fed butter & MCT oil (extracted from a combination of palm oil & coconut oil) – I’ve never tried it personally but I’m guessing it is an acquired taste. The coffee is supposed to provide an energy boost whilst promoting a state of ketosis (simply put, ‘fat burning’) which is particularly helpful in fasted states. During my fast days of the 5:2 lifestyle as it makes sense to try and maintain the state of ketosis for as long as possible.

So far on fasting days, I’ve just had a black coffee in the morning & then waited for dinner. In between however I’ve often felt ravenous & tired. In an attempt to combat this today, I had a teaspoon of coconut oil into my morning coffee:

bulletproof coffee

 

It actually gave the coffee a yummy coconut flavour so was rather palatable.

As for any positive effects, it is too early to say. After a some late nights/early mornings I really feel like my body needs sleep for a boost as opposed to caffeine. I did however feel less ‘ravenous’ by the time my evening meal came. So I’m going to keep giving it a go over my next few fast days to see how I go!

 

Have you ever tried ‘bulletproof’ coffee? What’s your take on it?

3 thoughts on “{Fast Day} Day 15: ‘Bulletproof’ Coffee

  1. Hi. I’m a bulletproof girl and on my fast days I often have two bulletproofs and nothing else. I do the full thing though with grass fed butter and the real upgraded brain octane oil from Mr. Asprey’s site. Well done on the weight loss so far on 5:2. Rawkaren.

    Like

    • Impressive Karen! I tried out another coffee with coconut oil today & really enjoyed it & felt energised… I think this one is a keeper 🙂 Thank you for the lovely comment

      Like

  2. Pingback: {Fast Day} Day 17: Lime & Soy Tuna with Egg-fried ‘Rice’ | The Fasting Doctor

Leave a comment