{Feed Day} Day 16: Healthy Satay Chicken Quinoa Recipe

healthy satay chicken quinoa

Satay sauce is one of my favourite sauces. It can however pack quite a calorific punch with ingredients such as peanuts, coconut milk, sugar – totally scrummy but I resigned myself to create a healthy alternative! One of my aims following the 5:2 lifestyle is to continue to eat well & explore some healthy recipes on my non-fast days which are nutritious but still tasty. This is one of them. Before we get to it, my day!

These summer mornings have made me crave creamy bowls of froyo/healthy ice cream (yes there is such a thing!). Today I fancied peanut butter & chocolate so that is exactly what I had:

peanut butter froyo

I blended half a frozen banana with a tablespoon of peanut butter, a tablespoon of cocoa powder and half a cup of full fat Greek yoghurt. YUM! Could eat bowls of this stuff. I topped mine with some frozen berries and a sprinkling of granola. It was divine.

Was reminded of the lesson ‘organisation is the key to success’ today. Had made myself a packed lunch but kept it at home as knew I would be back in time for lunch. Then I got delayed so ended up having a not-so-healthy tasty Turkish spinach & feta wrap. Always. Be. Prepared!

As for dinner, ahhh dinner! I fancied something peanutty (I guess I was in a PB mood!) but light so whipped up this recipe. It’s a mixture of lean protein, good fats, & I’m a big fan of quinoa as a high-protein grain. Enjoy!

healthy satay chicken quinoa

Ingredients (serves 1)

  • 1 chicken breast, diced
  • 1 carrot stick, chopped
  • 1 celery stick, chopped
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon dried chilli flakes
  • 1 tbs oil (I used the peanut oil which had created a top layer in my PB jar)
  • 1 tbs peanut butter (one which is made with 100% peanuts please!)
  • 1/4 cup quinoa
  • 1/2 – 1 cup boiled water

Fry the carrot, celery, onion & chicken breast in the oil until the chicken is cooked through. Mix the peanut butter, garlic, soy sauce & chilli flakes in 1/2 cup of boiled water & add with the quinoa into the mixture. Add some more boiled water to ensure all the quinoa is covered. Simmer until the quinoa expands & excess water evaporates.

healthy chicken satay

Leave a comment