{Feed Day} Day 20: My Favourite Healthy Treat

healthy homemade froyo

 

I think it is safe to say that most people love ice cream. I am one of those people. I could easily eat a pint of good ice cream in one sitting if I put my mind to it – actually, I lie, I wouldn’t need to put my mind to it, sometimes I literally blink & it’s all gone and I’m thinking “what on earth just happened?!”

However, neither my wallet nor my waist line can afford to indulge in such an addiction. If you’re based anywhere ‘in the know’ which follows trends, you would have seen the sudden saturation of the streets with froyo shops (frozen yoghurt for those who are not iced goods fans like myself), they have been literally sprouting up wherever my hungry feet take me. They boast a ‘low fat’ alternative to ice cream. We all know what that means now that we are trained in the paleo & 5:2 ways… ‘Low fat’ means packed with sugar to make it taste scrummy (& by george, do they taste good)! Plus, like anything ‘in vogue’, they are pretty pricey too.

My solution? DIY froyo. My version is full fat (good fats all the way!), has no added sugar (unless you opt for a few dark chocolate chips in your toppings) and is just divine. The banana has to be ripe (the spottier the better!) as it has a natural sweetness which will be carried through the dish.

healthy froyo 2

 

It is super quick & easy to make (all your need is a blender/food processor) & I’ll leave the toppings up to your imagination. Tonight I topped mine with fresh strawberries (good choice!) & some dark choc chips. I’d actually skip these next time – they look pretty but does anyone else agree that cold (especially ice cold) chocolate is just wasted on the taste buds? I’ve also had a drizzle of peanut butter on top previously & that gets a thumbs up.

Oh, if you’re on your fasting day (Monday is a common day to start… I normally do too ‘cept I fasted yesterday ) I apologise for taunting you with these pics – you know the drill, “there’s always tomorrow”. And this bowl of dreaminess will be waiting for you (I lie again, I’ll have eaten it by then, sorry).

Without further ado.

Healthy Homemade Froyo

home made froyo ingredients

Serves 2 people or 1 hungry ice cream monster (I fall into the latter category)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup frozen berries
  • 1/2 – 1 cup greek yoghurt (I use full fat as I like to include fats in my diet but free feel to use your normal % !)
  • 1/2 frozen banana (note to self: always peel a banana before putting it in the freezer – otherwise it is a nightmare trying to peel it when frozen!)
  • Desired toppings – peanut butter, strawberries, choc chips, a drizzle of maple syrup/honey… the world is your oyster!

Blend the berries, greek yoghurt & banana. Go crazy with the toppings. It really is that simple.

healthy froyo

2 thoughts on “{Feed Day} Day 20: My Favourite Healthy Treat

  1. You are making me hungry and yes I am fasting today 🙂 This looks good! I do however love Yasso Frozen Greek Yogurt! The Sea Salt Caramel which is the only one I’ve tried so far is lovely! I’m now looking for the peanut butter cup flavor which is new. But if I can’t find it, I now know how to make my own version! Thank you as I gulp my cran-raspberry fizzy water to offset the hunger pangs!

    Like

    • Ooh sea salt caramel sounds lovely (as does peanut butter cup) – I had never heard of the yasso brand but from looking at their website, we have something similar here called ‘skinny cow’ which are yummy too but I always want more than one stick at a time! Ok, let’s stop talking about food now because you’re fasting. You are doing awesome though, happy fast day (it’ll be over before you know it)!!

      Like

Leave a comment